Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

USB sound - scratchy [ SOLVED ]

Posted by petergunn 
USB sound - scratchy [ SOLVED ]
December 03, 2010 04:05PM
I bought a $2 usb audio adapter from DX. I'm thinking I may have been better going with the cheaper one.
# lsusb          
Bus 001 Device 114: ID 0c76:1607 JMTek, LLC. audio controller
Says "HY554" on the back.

Under Ubuntu 10 on x86_64 it works great, but on the Dockstar/Squeeze the audio is extremely 'scratchy' with alsa.

Googling around I see recommendations to reduce PCM volume in alsamixer, but I only see 'Speaker', 'Mic' and 'Auto Gain Control'. The 'Auto Gain Control' is stuck at 00.

I installed...
apt-get install alsa-base alsaplayer alsaplayer-text alsa-utils madplay mplayer
Then used the following to test sound...
mplayer -ao alsa -msgcolor -cache 64 http://www.tv-radio.com/station/fip_mp3/fip_mp3-128k.m3u
alsaplayer http://www.moviesoundscentral.com/sounds/harry_potter/urscary.wav
I'm an audio noob - anyone have any ideas about how to fix?

-PG

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 12/03/2010 05:14PM by petergunn.
Re: USB sound - scratchy
December 03, 2010 05:13PM
Fixed it! I used the alsa "softvol" feature and bumped up the buffer sizes from a config I found on the net:

I created the following /etc/asound.conf file:
pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "softvol"
}
pcm.dmixer {
       type dmix
       ipc_key 1024
       slave {
           pcm "hw:0"
           period_time 0
           period_size 4096
           buffer_size 131072
           rate 50000
       }
       bindings {
           0 0
           1 1
       }
}
pcm.dsnooper {
       type dsnoop
       ipc_key 1024
       slave {
           pcm "hw:0"
           channels 2
           period_time 0
           period_size 4096
           buffer_size 131072
           rate 50000
       }
       bindings {
           0 0
           1 1
       }
}
pcm.softvol {
       type softvol
       slave { pcm "dmixer" }
       control {