Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

nand install, installing other packages to usb drive

Posted by hyena 
nand install, installing other packages to usb drive
September 01, 2010 04:50PM
hi,

as i'm a complete linux newbie, i have installed emdebian to a win7 virtual box and am getting to grips with it (without hopefully bricking the dockstar when i eventually deflower it)

What i have in mind (bearing in mind that space is limited on nand) is installing the large package (squeezebox server) to the usb hard drive (along with my media and if i have to ffmpeg as well).

In the virtual box machine i've used apt to install usbmount to automount the usb drive (to save a bit of time in the virtual box) which was fine but now i intend to try and use apt to have a first attempt at installing the squeezebox server and as its a pretty meaty bit of code (and nand is read only) i'm trying to work out how to direct its install to the usb drive using apt (as im going to need to do this when i get round to emdebian'ing the dockstar.

can anyone offer any advice

thanks

ian
ecc
Re: nand install, installing other packages to usb drive
September 01, 2010 10:00PM
hyena Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> [...] i'm trying to work out how to direct
> its install to the usb drive using apt (as im
> going to need to do this when i get round to
> emdebian'ing the dockstar.

Apt doesn't allow you to change where to install packages -- the "Debian way" is for the package maintainer to determine exactly where its files go, not the user. But there's a way around that.

You can accomplish what you want by using a "chroot" -- kind of like a virtual machine, but it's just a subdirectory that you can pretend is the entire root filesystem by using the chroot command.