Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

swap space not used

Posted by metacircle 
swap space not used
September 10, 2010 09:10AM
Hello,

I created a ext2 partition as sda1 and a swap partition as sda2 just as written in the tutorial. Debian installation worked flawlessly. If I type "free -m" I get the following:

root@debian:/# free -m
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 122 29 93 0 0 19
-/+ buffers/cache: 8 113
Swap: 0 0 0
root@debian:/#

Which tells me that no swap is available?

Any ideas how to fix that? I am pretty new to linux so any beginners help is much appreciated.

Thank you.

edit: fdisk -l gives me:

Disk /dev/sda: 16.0 GB, 16000221184 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1945 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00049e50

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 1880 15101068+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 1881 1945 522112+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 09/10/2010 09:12AM by metacircle.
ecc
Re: swap space not used
September 10, 2010 10:00AM
metacircle Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I created a ext2 partition as sda1 and a swap partition as sda2 just as written in the tutorial.
> Debian installation worked flawlessly. If I type "free -m" I get the following:
>
> root@debian:/# free -m
> total used free
> shared buffers cached
> Mem: 122 29 93
> 0 0 19
> -/+ buffers/cache: 8 113
> Swap: 0 0 0
> root@debian:/#
>
> Which tells me that no swap is available?

In addition to creating the disk partition, you need to do two additional things to use it as swap space:

1. Format the swap partition:
mkswap /dev/sda2

2. Indicate in /etc/fstab that this partition should automatically be used as swap space, by adding this line:
/dev/sda2 none swap sw

Then either reboot, or (just this once) do "swapon -a".
September 10, 2010 10:33AM