Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pogo V2 not reachable after Debian install

Posted by Dirk 
Dirk
Pogo V2 not reachable after Debian install
December 19, 2012 12:47AM
Hi folks,

I am experiencing problems with my first attempt to install debian. The installation of squeeze went through, but after that the device disappeared from the router.
I did a network scan and found a cloud engines device at 169.254.102.7 but I can´t SSH into it. My router is at 192.168.1.2...
If I boot without USB, the stock system starts and it gets an IP from the dhcp. I must admit, I am a linux beginner, but I am willing to learn a lot and bought this device to do my first steps...

Best,
Dirk
Dirk
Re: Pogo V2 not reachable after Debian install
December 19, 2012 01:54AM
My guess would be, that the device does not receive an ip by the dhcp? Any ideas why? I even had told the dhcp to give always 192.168.1.103 to its mac-adress. this works if i boot without the usb to the stock system, but not with the debian stick... :(
December 19, 2012 02:13AM
Look for Davy's rootfs image in this thread http://forum.doozan.com/read.php?2,7676. Create an new USB stick with that rootfs and try booting with it.
Dirk
December 19, 2012 04:44AM
Hi bodhi,

Thank you for the reply. I appreciate your help very much.

Do you mean this Image?

kirkwood-debian_rootfs.img

At this location?

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/nwt2kbvetvgvroo/e-pNtdMhCC/Kirkwood/rootfs_images/NSA320quickstart

Do you have any hint for me how I get it onto the USB Stick using Windows7? I know... sorry...!
So after that, I boot with this new stick. And next, if it boots?

Best
Dirk
December 19, 2012 03:45PM
@Dirk,

Yes, that rootfs hosted by Davy will allow you to boot most (if not all) of Kirkwood boxes. To create your stick on Windows, you can try this tool: https://launchpad.net/win32-image-writer.

After it boots, change the password to your own on that system USB stick. And back this up so you got a good system to fall back on.