Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Installing Debian, already have Bootloader installed

Posted by ayrlander 
Installing Debian, already have Bootloader installed
September 22, 2010 12:08PM
Hi, all. I've been using Plugbox Linux for a couple of months now with my Dockstar. I just purchased a new 120GB hard drive for it, and I'm thinking of trying out Debian on my Dockstar, given all my desktops and servers already use Debian.

I'm wary, though, of installing the bootloader again, given problems I've had in the past. I installed Jeff's bootloader a few weeks ago to get my Dockstar working again after my blparam got mangled. Everything is working fine currently and I can boot off of USB, so I don't want to risk damaging anything.

Since I can boot off of USB, I was wondering if there was a Debian install option for not touching the bootloader or Pogoplug environment, but only setting up the external drive with a Debian installation? That is, I just want to download the images and set them up on the external drive, without touching any of the internal memory of the Dockstar. I could comment out the relevant line in dockstar.debian-squeeze.sh (which I think is simply commenting out
/tmp/install_uboot_mtd0.sh --noprompt) but I wasn't sure if that was ill-advised or not. Thanks!
Re: Installing Debian, already have Bootloader installed
September 26, 2010 03:28PM
It no longer matters if it was ill-advised or not; I charged ahead anyway, and ran the installer from within my plugbox install. Commented out the uboot line, changed /dev/sda to /dev/sdb to match my second drive that I was installing Debian to, other minor tweaking, and Debian installed fine. Used chroot to install and configure a bunch of services I knew I would need, and now my Dockstar is running Debian, and to all appearances has all the same services as when it was running Plugbox a couple of hours earlier.