Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

trying to reanimate bricked Dockstar

Posted by michapixel 
trying to reanimate bricked Dockstar
March 24, 2013 05:23AM
My situation is as followed:

i am by no means an expert on this field, so bear with me, if i sound a little confusing here and there :-)

I have 2 Dockstars here. One (a) did run Debian for quite some time (~2years), until i bricked it by updating it and not restarting it correctly (i guess), so the Dockstar did not boot completely (cannot verify this, cause on this one i changed the led-functions a bit). The other one (b) was laying around for some time, i experimented a little bit with it, but had no luck with some USB-Sticks i had laying around, so i decided to have it as a backup.
It seems it's time has come.

At first i tried to connect my jtag with Dockstar a) and i succeeded to get all the messages. It did boot into uboot, but there were checksum errors. I followed some links on how to solve that problem, but that seemed to be way over my head :-) so i gave up to follow this route.
then i tried to let it boot into debian from it's stick, but it never reached networking status. i tried to nmap it but no luck.
i then connected it again via serial/jtag and made my self a little comfortable with the pre-boot or uboot environment.
i finally found the ipaddress it gave itself with the help of this incredible forum and some other links / sites i found. but other than that i did not find out.

so i thought to myself: why not give dockstar b) a chance, at least that's what i decided once it was meant for.

but since it seems to have the same illness like a) - not showing up on my routers network, i connected it directly to my desktop - via jtag and network - and tried to find out what it did on it's booting-process.