Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to setup RAID 1 on NSA-325?

Posted by nrg-fv 
How to setup RAID 1 on NSA-325?
February 21, 2016 05:47AM
Hi

I've recently obtained Zyxel NSA-325 and I've managed to run Debian Jessie on it thanks to this site now I would like to use RAID 1 but I can't find any tutorial how to do it. I've never used RAID before so I was looking for some step by step procedure. So far I have found this article https://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-set-up-software-raid1-on-a-running-system-incl-grub2-configuration-debian-squeeze but it is probably just partially applicable to this device. I understand that i will need to have mdadm working to achieve that but so far even this doesn't work for me.

nrg@NSA-325:~$ sudo modprobe linear
modprobe: ERROR: ../libkmod/libkmod.c:508 kmod_lookup_alias_from_builtin_file() could not open builtin file '/lib/modules/4.4.0-kirkwood-tld-1/modules.builtin.bin'
modprobe: FATAL: Module linear not found.
nrg@NSA-325:~$ cat /proc/mdstat
cat: /proc/mdstat: No such file or directory
nrg@NSA-325:~$ sudo service --status-all|grep mdadm
 [ ? ]  cryptdisks
 [ ? ]  cryptdisks-early
 [ ? ]  hwclock.sh
 [ ? ]  kmod
 [ - ]  mdadm
 [ - ]  mdadm-raid
 [ - ]  mdadm-waitidle
 [ ? ]  networking
 [ ? ]  udev-finish
nrg@NSA-325:~$

Could someone please tell me how can I get this working starting from the beginning like how to prepare partitions etc. ?

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 02/21/2016 06:58AM by nrg-fv.
Re: How to setup RAID 1 on NSA-325?
February 23, 2016 10:46AM
Is there really no one able to help me?

This is what I'm getting when trying to install mdadm

nrg@NSA-325:~$ sudo apt-get install mdadm
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Recommended packages:
  default-mta mail-transport-agent
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  mdadm
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 0 B/400 kB of archives.