Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Squeezebox server

Posted by laurent 
laurent
Squeezebox server
October 18, 2010 09:12PM
Hi,
Was anyone of your successful in running a squeezebox server on the Dockstar with Debian installed.
This is my one and only goal and I just can't. I'm a newbie for sure, although I was able to install Debian, Webmin and Samba on the Dockstar. I seem to have to kind of a squeezeserver running although I can't access it through the browser interface. If anyone is successful and has a tutorial (that works)...
Thanks
Re: Squeezebox server
October 20, 2010 02:26PM
Hi,

I have a squeezebox server running on my dockstar.

To install it I did:
cd ~
wget http://downloads.slimdevices.com/SqueezeboxServer_v7.5.1/squeezeboxserver_7.5.1_all.deb
dpkg -i squeezeboxserver_7.5.1_all.deb
apt-get -f install

I think I had to install MySql too, to get it work with something like:
apt-get install mysql-server

Sorry, I don't have a howto, this is all from memory.

twinpeaks
laurent
October 21, 2010 09:16PM
Thanks Twinpeaks. I'm gonna give it a try ;-)

L
laurent
October 21, 2010 09:24PM
it Worked !! I can get access to my browser ! Thank you so much.
One more question, how do I mount and share an external drive on the dockstar so that I can direct the server to it?
Thanks again ;-)
Ehode
October 23, 2010 01:03AM
Thanks twinpeaks, that helped me get mine up and going tonight also.
truehl
October 28, 2010 01:35AM
You could take a look at my blog: http://squeezeplug.de

Greetings
Thomas
October 28, 2010 06:26AM
In my experience running 7.6 gives better performance on low-specced systems as it uses sqlite instead of mysql.

I've got 7.6 nightly running fine on my dockstar.

Cheers,
Menno
truehl
October 28, 2010 08:38AM
I agree 100%. In my setup script you can choose between 7.5.x and 7.6. I recommand the 7.6.

Greetings,
Thomas
laurent
October 29, 2010 11:40PM
Thomas,