Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Options for VGA out

Posted by BradonC 
BradonC
Options for VGA out
December 11, 2010 06:17AM
I know people have had success with using USB to VGA adapters, but I was wondering if you need to buy a certain model or brand to get it to work. I've saw one video were the guy was using a $75 one, but being a poor college student, I'm trying to cut costs. Does anyone have experience with off market ones such as this one? Thanks
http://cgi.ebay.com/USB-VGA-adapter-USB-2-0-extra-display-monitor-/260686626133?pt=Video_Games&hash=item3cb2223d55#ht_5723wt_1139
Re: Options for VGA out
December 11, 2010 11:20AM
Your post reminded me that my old Targus Universal Dock ACP50US has a USB2VGA port. Several years back when I bought it I could not get it working with Linux and it was repurposed as a make-shift charging station for my cell phone and other gadgets. I just give it a quick try with my dockstar and after a little tweaking... it works!

Quick howto: Create /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen         0  "SISScreen" 0 0
EndSection
Section "Device"
    Identifier  "SISDevice"
    Driver      "sisusb"
EndSection
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "SISMonitor"
EndSection
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "SISScreen"
    Device      "SISDevice"
    Monitor     "SISMonitor"
EndSection
Install the required packages...
apt-get update
# not sure which of the following are necessary - these are what I installed to get my Displaylink screen working
apt-get install xinit xserver-xorg xserver-xorg-dev xfonts-base libusb-dev xorg-dev git-core build-essential
# required for sisusb software rendering
apt-get install libgl1-mesa-dri
# minimal fluxbox set up - plus an xterm & a couple of browsers 
apt-get install fluxbox rxvt midori iceweasel
echo "exec fluxbox" > ~/.xinitrc
To start
startx