Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Change USB-debian for a bigger USB key

Posted by R-One 
Change USB-debian for a bigger USB key
December 13, 2010 07:24AM
Dear all,

I followed Jeff instructions to install debian squeeze on a usb key 1 GB to operate my brand new dockstar device.
It was very straightfoward. Thank you for this very good help.
I have been working with it for a few days installing a few packages such as samba and others but my usb device is now full and I cannot install packages anymore.

Should I have selected more carefully the packages to be installed?
Is it possible to replace my 1GB key with a 4 GB key?

If yes, what is the procedure?
I am a linux beginner and I would not like to make bad operation.

Thank you for your help.

Erwan
Re: Change USB-debian for a bigger USB key
December 13, 2010 07:37AM
Just an additional question to my previous mail:

Is there any special caution to consider when upgrading one's debian initial version on a device with limited memory space?
- Files to remove once package install is complete?
- Select small profiles packages? How to identify them?

I would like to setup hotplug functionality on my dockstar. Is such functionality too heavy?
How would you proceed?

Thank you for advice.

Erwan
jp1
December 13, 2010 09:29AM
All steps to be performed on a Linux PC. If you don't run linux on your desktop, grab any Live Linux CD and boot from it or run it from VirtualBox/Vmware.
1. dd the contents of the 1gb key (assume it is sda) to the 4gb key directly or via a file.
dd if=/dev/sda of=backup.1gb.img
2. Restore to 4gb key. I assume it is visible as sdb.
dd if=backup.1gb.img of=/dev/sdb
3. Resize the root partition (sda1 for Jeff's installer) with gparted or any partitioning tool of your choice which supports ext2 resizing non-destructively.
December 13, 2010 09:42AM
Yeah get a 4 gig stick and then you don't have to worry about running out of space. :)