Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Seagate Goflex Home turned into paperweight, please help.

Posted by paperweight 
Seagate Goflex Home turned into paperweight, please help.
January 09, 2017 06:03AM
Dear experts,

I have no knowledge of Linux, yet I bought a Seagate Goflex Home Freeagent years ago dreaming about turning it into a server for either downloading torrents or/and streaming for Squeezebox Touch. As you may notice, I can't even recall what exactly was my original goal. The only thing I remember now is I performed some flash, following an online tutorial, which clearly warned that once the native Goflex firmware is removed it cannot be restored and the worst scenario is that the Goflex turns into a regular external hard drive. I was occupied by something else and dropped the project after the irreversible first step without having ever tried the intended function of the device. Now I can't find the tutorial to continue the project, can't get the device to work the way it was supposed to, and can't even use it as an regular external drive.

I tried to flash the original firmware back onto the base following Seagate website guide - nothing happened, no surprise. The green light flashes all the time after I inserted the UBS recovery stick, powered the device on and held the reset pin. When I don't do anything to the device, the green light behaves the same way, always flickering.

I wonder if any of you have experience with Goflex Home and could kindly help me identify the problem(s). I don't expect any magic cure for my stupid action. I will be very happy if it can only be used as a regular hard drive. At least it won't be a completely waste of money and a permanent reminder of my insanity. Thank you very much for your time.

Jay

Edited 2 time(s). Last edit at 01/09/2017 06:04AM by paperweight.
Re: Seagate Goflex Home turned into paperweight, please help.
January 09, 2017 08:50AM