Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Install went great, Now what?

Posted by Joshua 
Joshua
Install went great, Now what?
March 18, 2011 09:36AM
Hello,

First off, I am a total beginner at all Linux and the working in a terminal. I want to thank Jeff and all the others for their hard work on making this site and having everything actually work.

But my question is, now what? Now that I have a dockstar that will dual boot pogoplug and debian, what do I do with the debian part. I assume I could make a webserver of sorts but what else. I would like to have have some pogoplug like functionality, but I assume there is alot more I could do.

Please point me in a direction.

Also, is there a good primer for Linux and how it functions. There must be a million out there but what is a good one in your opinion.

Thanks
josh
Re: Install went great, Now what?
March 18, 2011 01:01PM
You might get some ideas here :-)

-PG
rat-netbook
March 19, 2011 04:45AM
Given that Linux is what you want it to be more than anything else, you don't have to accept the mentality that if you install Linux onto something, it has to be a server of some sort.

Anything you can do in Ubuntu, you can also do in Debian. Want to turn it into a thin client? Yeah. You can. Want to use it as a remote desktop? Install TightVNCServer and use it like one. I prefer XFCE for my desktop as it's a bit more lightweight than Gnome or KDE. Want to use it as your primary desktop? Hook up an LCD and you won't have to VNC into it anymore. Now you have a low power ARM based desktop that'll run on a UPS for more than 12 hours (with an lcd) as opposed to 15-30 minutes with a regular desktop.