Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Clueless Newbie needs guidance: convert Toshiba Canvio Home to Linux

Posted by DwayneR 
Clueless Newbie needs guidance: convert Toshiba Canvio Home to Linux
November 26, 2017 07:08PM
Good day to all.

Although I have been using and playing with computers since early 1980, I have thus far mostly avoided Linux. Not because I don't like it - just too many other things to learn and do.

I do have a minor passing acquaintance with Linux - playing with Ubuntu and the various flavors of Raspberry Pi. But I am no where near competent. DOS: yes. Windows: yes. Linux: no.

I purchased a Toshiba Canvio Home 2TB box several years ago but it has sat unopened until today. Lo and behold - Toshiba seems to have forgotten this device ever existed. Almost zero information at the various Toshiba websites.

Google to the rescue. I discovered this forum.

Thanks to R0B3r7, I was able to grab the Windows Installer and give the box a quick whirl. It seems competent.

But: I see that several people have managed to get Debian to run on the box.

Couple of questions before I start messing with this thing:

1) What are the advantages of moving this box to the current version of Debian? I assume security updates are a good enough reason but any other benefits?

2) I'm going to want to back up the original hard drive before I mess with it. I've gone through several Disk Imaging programs over the past 30 plus years but I'm currently using Acronis True Image Backup. Under Windows, of course.

Given that I've never messed with a Linux box previously, can I simply add the drive from the Canvio to one of my Windows boxes and use Acronis to get a good backup? The end goal is to be able to restore the Canvio to original if necessary.

Once I have a good backup of the Canvio drive, I want to start playing. I'm at https://forum.doozan.com/read.php?2,12096 and see that the procedure presupposes that I am already running Linux somewhere. I'm not.