Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

How to transfer Debian installed on USB stick to HDD

Posted by archat68 
archat68
How to transfer Debian installed on USB stick to HDD
September 04, 2010 11:04AM
I'm a newbie to Linux but successfully installed and configured Debian on the USB stick on my Dockstar with the help of this forum and another member Varkey from another tech forum Techenclave.

I now want to transfer the installed Debian to an external HDD without reinstall. Will a simple copy/paste of the whole file system do -or I need to do something else?

Pls. advice!!
Re: How to transfer Debian installed on USB stick to HDD
September 04, 2010 05:19PM
I am not a linux expert either so I cannot tell if the method you described will work or not. Below is the way I did for transferring the root system installation on an USB to a HDD. It has been tested working.
1. Back up the usb root partition on a PC. On a linux box, I used partimage. On a Windows, I used Acronis True Image. Other back up software should also work but these were what I use. (Acronis has an advantage to be able to reinstall on a partition smaller than the original one but it is probably not important in this case.)
2. Partition the HDD on a linux box to contain at least two partitions using fdisk. The first one should be large enough to contain the USB stick's root system and formatted as ext2 or ext3 using mkfs. The last partition should be formatted using mkswap as swap, which should be 256MB or larger for Dockstar. You could have additional partitions to contain data after you properly mount it. To begin with, it is probably good enough to have two partitions.
3. Restore the backup image to the first partition on HDD. That's it.
There might be better way to do the transferring but at least the approach described above will work.
Hope this helps.
September 14, 2010 09:00AM
simple:

1.- mount your devices on your usual GNU/Linux computer:

eg: /media/USB and /media/harddrive