Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Hardware accelerated encryption on GoFlex Net / Dockstar or is mv_cesa of any practical use?

Posted by Vlad 
I've been experimenting with hardware accelerated encryption via mv_cesa on my GoFlex Net but somehow I'm quite confused now. I'm not a cryptography expert whatsoever but after reading a lot of wikis and forums I found out that mv_cesa accelerates only a very limited number of ciphers. Here's a part of my /proc/crypto related to mv_cesa

name         : hmac(sha1)
driver       : mv-hmac-sha1
module       : mv_cesa
priority     : 300
refcnt       : 1
selftest     : passed
type         : ahash
async        : yes
blocksize    : 64
digestsize   : 20

name         : sha1
driver       : mv-sha1
type         : ahash
blocksize    : 64
digestsize   : 20

name         : cbc(aes)
driver       : mv-cbc-aes
type         : ablkcipher
blocksize    : 16
min keysize  : 16
max keysize  : 32
ivsize       : 16
geniv        : <default>

name         : ecb(aes)
driver       : mv-ecb-aes
type         : ablkcipher
blocksize    : 16
min keysize  : 16
max keysize  : 32
ivsize       : 0
geniv        : <default>

So, as we can see mv_cesa sort of supports aes-cbc,aes sha1 and aes-ecb. According to the Wikipedia, ecb is not a very secure cipher and better shouldn't be used at all. So one is out. As far as "aes sha1" is concened, once again Wikipedia tells that sha1 has some serious weaknesses and thus shouldn't be used too. Now we have only cbc left. But, as far as disk encryption is concerned, cbc is vulnerable to the so called watermarking attack This can be remedied by using cbc-essiv instead of cbc-plain, but (surprise, surprise) according to my experiments, mv_cesa doesn't accelerate cbc-essiv. Thus, if you want to encrypt a drive using mv_cesa you can use
cryptsetup luksFormat -c aes-cbc-plain -s 256 -h sha512 /dev/sdXY
or
cryptsetup luksFormat -c aes-ecb-plain -s 256 /dev/sdXY
or
cryptsetup luksFormat -c aes -h sha1 /dev/sdXY