Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

debian squeeze on sheeva plug rather than a pogoplug?

Posted by Ben 
Dear All,

hopefully someone can help me a little - or just give me advice or a heads up.

I'm wanting to replace the default Debian/Ubuntu install on my ~2yr old sheevaplug with Debian Squeeze

I *believe* it's probably possible (though I'm not sure my device is multiboot capable... even in theory.. i'm pretty new to linux.. but I follow instructions well and can read between lines, so I'm positive-ish)

Anyone have experience doing this (on the sheeva rather than pogoplug). i thought they're pretty similar but not certain.

Big qst is will Jeff's instructions for getting Squeeze onto the pogoplug usb/flash drive work 'roughly as-is',
and for the record I want to use an SD card rather than usb drive, presume that doesn't make much difference.

i can format drive, install wget (which seemed to be missing initially) (after killing some apt-get processes first)
but trying jeff's install script fails to actually download from repositories.. stuck at 0%. any ideas??

Thanks
Ben
Re: debian squeeze on sheeva plug rather than a pogoplug?
March 16, 2012 08:46AM
I installed Debian on my sheevaplug's boot SD card using this:

http://sourceforge.net/projects/esia/

It's been quite a while ago, but the sheevaplug still runs fine.
Re: debian squeeze on sheeva plug rather than a pogoplug?
March 17, 2012 11:14AM
This is a different setup, but I've used it... on dockstar and pogoplug, but it is originally for Sheevaplug...

http://www.cyrius.com/debian/kirkwood/sheevaplug/install.html

=====================================================
Author:

Your Email:

Subject:

Spam prevention: