Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Installing the new uBoot offline?

Posted by BillyBoy 
Installing the new uBoot offline?
September 09, 2010 07:45AM
Hello Jeff,

First of all I must confess that I'm a Linux newbie, therefore I don't own any Linux PC (just another Linux based NAS). I just know how to use the Windows PuTTY Connection Manager to SSH in to a specific device. However, I dared to buy me a DockStar in order to get me another well-working network adapter which I can use for my USB-HDD's.

Because I was afraid to catch any firmware update from Pogoplug right from the start, yesterday I was attempting to follow all Wiki steps, I just was executing them offline. That means I prevented any internet connection to my home network after I downloaded all necessary files from PlugApps.com. To make the "wget" command still work, I just set up an FTP server at home and fetched up the necessary installation files directly from there in order to apply them to the DockStar. At least creating NAND dumps of the original PogoPlug NAND partitions was still no problem that way.

Unfortunately all went ok up to the point where I intended to install the new uBoot script. After reading the warning messages and confirming that the PogoPlug environment will be disabled on my device, the installer started to work. After a while it complained several times that doozan.com could not be found. Then it stated, that there was a problem with the blparams and the installer was intending to exit. So it finally did. As the abort was very clean without any further error messages, it kept me very unsure if the flash process was successfully completed or not. I just came back to my usual prompt "bash-3.2#". I didn't continue, neither creating any USB file system on my USB stick nor to install any OS to it. However, I dared to reboot the device and fortunately it went back to the PogoPlug environment. Now my questions: