Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Bricked Pogoplug V4-A3-01. JTAG?

Posted by Skyrunner84 
Bricked Pogoplug V4-A3-01. JTAG?
May 07, 2014 05:59PM
Hello everyone, I'm new to you forum but I have been messing with Pogoplugs for a while. I have been fortunate enough to not need to use JTAG on any of them until last night. I was flashing the NAND boot sector when the power to the device was cut. Initially I turned power back on and nothing happened. No serial connection, no lights, nothing! After power cycling it a few times I noticed the ethernet light would flash as soon as I plogged it in, then go out and again nothing. I read a post in the forums about using kwtools to try and boot it. So far that has had no effect. I read a post somewhere that said it may take a while for kwtools to get a response from the device, so I left it overnight. Unfortunately this morning still no results.... well kinda. Now when I power cycle the device the ethernet lights come on and stay on as if it was up and running. The data light even flashes along with the light on the router. But there is still no serial connection! I don't know where to go from here. Like I said I have never used JTAG before and I cant find anything on google about JTAG on the Pogoplug V4.

The good news is that this is not a critical project. It has just become something to figure out. Any help would be very welcome.

Thanks,
Kevin
Re: Bricked Pogoplug V4-A3-01. JTAG?
May 07, 2014 06:21PM
Kevin,

Perhaps you don't need JTAG. I'm quoting myself on another thread:

bodhi
With the Pogo V4, you will need to do this sequence to get UART to boot:

- Use serial console
- Start kwboot on a different Linux box
- Power up the Pogo V4
- Wait until the spinning / start slowing down (meaning the handshake has started but not successfully).
- Control-C to abort kwboot, and recall the command, execute kwboot again.