Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pogoplug Mobile - Booting default Pogoplug OS in NAND

Posted by grayman4hire 
Pogoplug Mobile - Booting default Pogoplug OS in NAND
July 16, 2014 01:11PM
Hello,

Quick disclaimer, I'm new to uBoot and Linux booting so please bare with me.

I've been looking into booting the default Pogoplug OS from davygravy's uboot. Basically I'm looking for similar functionality of the Pogoplug E02, where if you don't have anything plugged in, the Pogoplug will boot back into its default OS. This feature is useful for rebuilding a corrupt usb drive, but more importantly I'm just looking to better understand the uboot process.

I found the original thread where Jeff explains the method he uses for the Pogoplug E02 - http://forum.doozan.com/read.php?3,210,214

The installer saves a copy of the pogoplug uboot image to the root directory of the pogoplug environment (mtd2). When the new uBoot runs, it tries to boot from the USB devices, but if they're not found or unbootable, it will load the old uBoot image and let that run to boot into the original Pogoplug installation.

Here is "pogo_bootcmd" uboot environment variable/command used to boot the "copy of the pogoplug uboot image"
pogo_bootcmd=if fsload uboot-original-mtd0.kwb; then go 0x800200; fi

I got a few questions:

1) How do I create the "uboot-original-mtd0.kwb" file (containing the original Pogoplug Mobile uboot)? From looking at Jeff's installation script, the uboot-original-mtd0.kwb file is downloaded from his server.

Using my E02 as a base test unit, I tried the following command. However the md5 on the kwb file didn't match the one Jeff provides and my Pogoplug E02 failed to boot into the default Pogoplug OS.
nanddump --noecc --omitoob -l 0x80000 -f /uboot-original-mtd0_2.kwb /dev/mtd0

I got the command from Jeff's uBoot installation script
# dump the first 512k of mtd0 to /tmp
$NANDDUMP --noecc --omitoob -l 0x80000 -f /tmp/uboot-mtd0-dump /dev/mtd0