Tips for adding support to latest uBoot when I have 1.1.1 level source
September 20, 2016 12:01AM
I have source code to an ancient uBoot version 1.1.1 I'd like to port this to the latest uboot, but I have no idea where to start and documentation on the uBoot site appears to be seriously out of date. I am an experienced C developer (over 20 years experience) and was a contributor to Linux back when m68k Macs were still a viable platform. I'd just like some pointers as I have not been able to decipher the structure of uboot (i.e. where to begin adding support).

Ray
Re: Tips for adding support to latest uBoot when I have 1.1.1 level source
September 20, 2016 03:18AM
Hi Ray,

I think you're approaching this at the wrong angle. Older u-boots patches are quite different from each others. So there is no point in starting from old u-boot. The patches usually were badly done (trust me, you'd want to curse when you read them :)) so it would introduce more uncertainty in understanding new u-boot. Ignore them until you need to read an old u-boot GPL to find certain info. Older and current u-boot architectures are quite different.

If you want to learn how to develop new u-boot, the best way is to study new u-boot code, and start modifying it. Once you get familiar with how u-boot is structured, and if you can modify it to remove/add features, then you can start developing new one using old u-boot patches.

So here is the one method: wait until somebody releases a new u-boot and find out what was added. The prime example is: I'm developing a new Cisco ON100-K9 u-boot for this community and the Linux community at large. When I push the code to my GitHub, you would go and fetch them, do a source diff between the branches or commits. Or if you're impatient, you would go to my GitHub and start diffing the branches to see what I did in developing the new HP T5325 u-boot, NSA310S u-boot, or NSA325 u-boot,....

-bodhi
===========================
Forum Wiki