Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Some Uboot and migrating questions.

Posted by 6pack 
6pack
Some Uboot and migrating questions.
August 19, 2012 01:28AM
Q1 - Migrating old disk to new one
I have installed debian on a sandisk 4GB usb disk. The debian partiton is 2GB and swap is 512MB i think.
I want to move this to a larger 1TB usb hdd. I made a 2Gb partition for rootfs with label rootfs, 512MB saw with no label and rest might be ntfs/ ext 3 or 4 (havent formatted it yet).

What are the steps I need to do this? I'm a beginner in linux/bash and easily forget commands since i dont use them often. if possible a step by step instructions would be helpful to me.

Also my sandisk has some bad sectors i think. if i copy the files directly, will the os mark the corresponding sectors on my usb hdd as bad? also i think the media or device type or id is mentioned in some file in form of 0x0002c or something... do i need to change that file?

Q2 - I wanted to try archlinux in meantime. So i tried extracting archlinux arm tarbgz file on my empty usb hdd. but it wont boot into it. it boots into pogo's bash everytime.

While installing, i didnt do the uboot install part, since i thought it will rewrite the nand with uboot again if i do it, right?

Where is uboot installed in the first place? on hdd or nand of pogo?
i had already downloaded archlinux arm tar from the site and i unpacked it to root of usb hdd after creating a tmp dir. Comparing the install with my debian install on usb, i can see all the folders in the root of the hdd, except - initrd.img and vmlinuz. I saw some files not present are in the boot folder. only uImage is present. the rest 4 kirkwood files and uInitrd files are not present. i'm sure some lib files are not there too.
what did i do wrong?