Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pogoplug Pro All-nighter Brainstorm

Posted by JoeyPogoPlugE02 
Pogoplug Pro All-nighter Brainstorm
April 16, 2015 02:02AM
If I understand it right, the company that makes Pogoplug, discontinued that fine piece of character-building sunshine. Since I'm a newb with little sense of limitations, there are three general configurations members seem to be leaning toward...

1. Improved stock: after all, the wireless works, the GUI has categories, and the people you're sharing with appreciate simplicity. This could involve changing some read-only features or even getting it to boot from USB or hard drive. I'm not sure how much of a EULA pertaining to whacking their code applies if the model is discontinued, or other factors.

2. Debian: But of course... should be a match made in heaven if my E02 is any indication. Just runs smooth as all getout.

3. OpenWRT: Still trying to wrap my head around this, as the apps contained are tiny and ought to be resource friendly. But a router with one Ethernet and one wireless? This ought to be interesting.

As habibie and bohdi were talking about creating a cedebug variable using blparam, I thought maybe is a good time to ask about which modifications allow/disallow changes down the road?

In other words, it's been said the best experts can explain things in simple terms.

bodhi Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> If you guys post this off-topic issue in a new
> thread, I will show you how to do that.

:-)

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/16/2015 02:05AM by JoeyPogoPlugE02.
Re: Pogoplug Pro All-nighter Brainstorm
April 16, 2015 03:24AM
In stock Pogo OS, u-boot envs are listed or set by blparam. So after logged in the Pogo OS, at the shell prompt:

To check if the command is available in the path (ususally is):
which blparam
to list all u-boot envs:
blparam

To set a certain u-boot variable (this example sets the serverip to 192.168.0.224)