Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Pogoplug Mobile - enable SD card booting from Linux?

Posted by razorboy 
Pogoplug Mobile - enable SD card booting from Linux?
August 11, 2014 08:59PM
I've been working on my Pogoplug Mobile for a couple months now, (I only get an hour or two at a time to play with it), and I've finally got it up and running.

I want to enable booting from the SD card, but I can't seem to find instructions that connects the dots for exactly my setup.

SETUP HISTORY:
I installed Arch Linux using the regular guide from here: Pogoplug Series 4
Unfortunately the USB flash drive I used was very unstable, and would only successfully boot a fraction of the time. (I tried 6 different flash drives, until I figured out that most Kingston drives do not work well... and all my drives are Kingston).

In the process of debugging the drive I soldered in the serial debug header so I could see the boot spew, which was very helpful. (I only note this to save people asking if I've done that, and to show people this little guy: CP2102 - it's a USB-to-UART adapter based on Silicon Labs' CP2102 chipset. [I'm not promoting this seller; I didn't buy mine from him. I just wanted to show that they are selling for ~$2, shipped.] The driver support for this chipset is fantastic... everything from Win2k to Win8.1, also MacOS X, Linux, Android... even WinCE. And it has worked flawlessly for me. I have an older one with a Prolific chipset, and the stupid thing bluescreened Win7 on me... which is a feat!)

It took me a while to find a USB key that worked with my Mobile, but when I did, I just reinstalled the rootfs on the key and everything started working again.
(Note: 'reinstalling rootfs' was another one that was hard to find instructions for. I did it from a desktop Ubuntu box, using these instructions Reinstallation, but using ext3 instead of ext4, and replacing the .gz with the one from the original install link).