Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

installing debian on iomega iconnect

Posted by hyena 
installing debian on iomega iconnect
January 04, 2011 06:09PM
Hi,

I've succesfully (using jeff's method with a dockstar) created a nice debian squeezebox server, which my nephew has now comandeered !

I've just bought a cheap secondhand kirkwood iomega iconnect, which i am hoping to replicate as my own debian squeezebox server (this time with a bit more RAM, though less grunt as its only 1ghz) as they appear to be clearing old stock (i got an ex-display model with lost PSU)

I have seen some people on the forum have had a bash at this and am wondering if anyone has any tips on how best to approach it (i'm a linux newbie)

I have seen that the half height mini pci wifi card inside isnt supported, so in this respect it may be better picking up a cheap supported one from ebay .. anyone have any tips on the best type (needs to be half height).

thx

ian
Re: installing debian on iomega iconnect
January 07, 2011 02:00PM
Hi,

Heres a guy thats managed to get debian on the iconnect, despite being a linux newbie i'm gonna have a bash when my iconnect arrives in a few days (and i source a suitable PSU for it).

Being a linux newbie (and never having compiled a kernel before) i dont anticipate this being a smooth process but ive ordered a stock kernel supported cheap mini pcie card as well just in case so i can attempt it with a stock sheeva compiled kernel.