Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

Goflex Home: A new brick?

Posted by dannyboy2322 
Goflex Home: A new brick?
July 21, 2012 11:19PM
Hello,

First off, I am an all around noob to all things linux ( I switched to ubuntu only a few weeks ago). I only took on the project of installing ArchlinuxARM because of the total uselessness of the stock Seagate Dashboard. It was a bit over my head and I may have fumbled my way into a corner.

(The Steps I refer to are those on the ArchlinuxARM website: http://archlinuxarm.org/platforms/armv5/seagate-goflex-home)

Here is what I have done:
I went through all of the steps described on the installation page up until step 13: Unmount the drive: cd.. ; umount alarm. At this step I typed "unmount alarm" instead of "umount alarm" (who thought that was a good idea? how hard is it to add an "n"). I did not recognize my error even when it told me that "unmount" was not a recognized command (My thoughts: "Computer, you sooo stupid! Of course it command! hurrduur!!"). I barrelled on through the next steps (they seemed to have the necessary results so the unmount VS umount problem left my mind). All seemed to be a success! I finished the first reboot "housekeeping" without much problem.
Then I realized I could not seem my drive on the network other than through SSH. I could even see it in the WebUI of my router. However, the white light was not lighting up.
At this point I remembered the "unmount" problem. So, I decided to attempt to restart the process. Already having root access i began at step 4 but skipped step 5 (rationalizing " those daemons were probably deleted once I formatted everything" on the wholly insufficient evidence of intuition).
Well, I couldn't get past step 10. I am pretty sure I made an additional partition within the second original partition. At which point I called "mulligans". (I *think* at this point the green light started flashing)