Welcome! Log In Create A New Profile

Advanced

A new uboot patch to support >2TB HDD?

Posted by pancho22 
A new uboot patch to support >2TB HDD?
May 24, 2013 10:35PM
A few months ago I bought a 3TB WD HDD and I returned it to the store after I realized that uBoot didn't support HDD greater that 2TB. It was just impossible to boot my Pogoplug V2 with the HDD attached, although the drive was working fine if attached after boot process. Today, I came across a patch released last month that I believe would fix this problem:

http://www.mail-archive.com/u-boot@lists.denx.de/msg110553.html

As I'm not an expert, I would like to seek advice from others before attempting anything. Maybe someone more knowledgeable could compile a more recent version of uBoot that would allow HDD with more that 2TB?

Thanks!
Re: A new uboot patch to support >2TB HDD?
May 31, 2013 01:12AM
Will see if I can build 2013.04 uBoot, which should have this patch. Still, I'm not sure if netconsole will work properly with this later uBoot version.
June 09, 2013 07:12PM
I've built the 2013.04 uBoot and tried it on a GoFlex Net. It still has problem with netconsole, so I consider it not fit for public consumption. There seems to be a race condition in netconsole input logic (it exhibits different behavior when debug is turned on and not turned on). It booted in normal mode OK, and also OK in serial console, but can't boot in netconsole.

Netconsole is too valuable to loose, so I don't think it is acceptable to use this uBoot version. And also I should note that it could have been just my uBoot build that has problem, I've posted in the news group, but nobody seems to care to try it to verify the problem. It could be that they don't have this problem due to their box specific timing that enable it to run OK.

-bodhi
===========================
Forum Wiki
bodhi's corner (buy bodhi a beer)
June 10, 2013 08:40AM